header logo


for string quartet, by Anthony Ritchie, Opus 71

An approachable and evocative work, based on the landscape around Queenstown in NZ. This piece was written for a birthday celebration.

Watch the Aroha String Quartet play Whakatipua

video link

Programme Note

Whakatipua for string quartet was commissioned by the artist Morgan Jones as a surprise present for his wife, Pat Jones, who was turning 60. The piece was first played at their wonderful home near Queenstown, on the occasion of Pat's birthday. It was written for a quartet then resident at the University of Otago Music Department, consisting of Donald Maurice, Rebecca Maurice, Rupa Maitra and Euan Murdoch.

The piece is in a single movement. Slower sections at the beginning and end surround a main quick section. The piece evokes the mountain landscape around Queenstown, and also Morgan and Pat's place, which is called 'Whakatipua'. There are elements of folk music in the piece which is characterised by open-sounding sonorities, and it pays a quiet tribute to the music of Lilburn as well. It was written to be not overly taxing to perform, technically.

Whakatipua has been performed frequently and has also been re-arranged in a version for string orchestra.

Buy the right to download a pdf containing the score and all parts for use by a single string quartet at a cost of NZ$25.00:

Orders are saved in a secure Paypal shopping cart which is viewed on a separate browser tab. When you have finished shopping, simply Check Out for a Secure Guest check out using your credit card, or to use an existing Paypal account choose Paypal Check Out.
Orders are processed every 5 minutes. An email with a link to each file should arrive within 6 minutes of checking out. If it does not arrive we will likely notice during a New Zealand working day but please send an email to bellbirdpublications at gmail dot com if you have any problems with ordering.