header logo

Cornet Rhapsody

for cornet and piano, by Anthony Ritchie, Opus 195

Programme Note

Cornet Rhapsody was commissioned by The Brass Bands Association of New Zealand for use as a test piece in 2017.

As well as displaying technical features of the instrument this piece also explores its expressive qualities. It is structured like the old-style Hungarian rhapsodies of Bela Bartok: a slow section that features dotted rhythms, contrasted with a dance-like quick section.

The opening theme is based on a phrase from a Hungarian folk tune, based on the pentatonic scale D-F-G-A-C (on the cornet). This theme is developed in different keys and embellished by the soloist. The 'chugging' rhythm of the piano is also characteristic of folk-style playing.

Following a climax, the soloist has a cadenza that is based on both the opening theme and the new theme to come, in the 'allegro'. This new theme outlines steps of 3rds and again contrasts different key areas. A third theme emerges, also pentatonic in nature, over a rushing piano accompaniment. These themes are varied, building to a climax and another short cadenza. A top D on cornet is followed by a brief and exciting coda.

This composition was supported by The University of Otago.

Buy the right to download a single pdf including the piano score and the solo cornet part, online, and permission to duplicate or print it as required for one cornet player : NZ$15.00.

Orders are saved in a secure Paypal shopping cart which is viewed on a separate browser tab. When you have finished shopping, simply Check Out for a Secure Guest check out using your credit card, or to use an existing Paypal account choose Paypal Check Out.
Orders are processed every 5 minutes. An email with a link to each file should arrive within 6 minutes of checking out. If it does not arrive we will likely notice during a New Zealand working day but please send an email to bellbirdpublications at gmail dot com if you have any problems with ordering.